101 in 1001 (#2)

Back in 2016, I created my first 101 in 1001 list (basically 101 things I’d like to do in the span of 1001 days). I organically completed some of the tasks but I didn’t really keep up with the list very much. I’m not sure why, but I feel compelled to create another one. I took some items from my previous list, some items from my 30 before 30 list, and most of them are new things I’ve come up with. So without further adieu, here is my second list of 101 things to complete before May 3, 2023 (I technically created this list on August 5 and am just now sharing it!!).

Financial

  1. Pay off my student loans. (Completed this in September!!)
  2. Go an entire month without spending my personal fund.
  3. Save up 6 months’ worth of expenses in an emergency fund.
  4. Write a will. Not fun to think about, but necessary for all of us.

Fitness

  1. Successfully do an unassisted sit-up. As I’ve said before, I am weaksauce.
  2. Successfully do 10 consecutive push-ups. See above.
  3. Run 3 half marathons.
  4. Run a full marathon.
  5. Go paddleboarding.
  6. Get my yoga teacher certification. I hope to do this before the end of 2021!
  7. Buy a bike.
  8. Join a running club.
  9. Get to my goal weight.
  10. Go skiing.

Travel

  1. Travel out of the continent at least once.
  2. Travel to the west coast. I would love to do a road trip up and down the coast of California!
  3. Travel to New England. We have friends that recently moved to Connecticut so really hoping we can visit sometime soon!
  4. Try an experiment in “The Lonely Planet Guide to Experimental Travel”. This is such a cool book with so many fun ideas!
  5. Spend a weekend in a city I’ve never been to.
  6. Take a completely spontaneous weekend trip.
  7. Go to Vegas.
  8. Go on a long road trip. Drove from Houston to Durango, CO during Christmas break- 16 hours one way so I think it counts!
  9. Go on a trip with my girlfriends.
  10. Visit Sicily with my Mawmaw. My grandma’s grandfather immigrated to the US in the early 1900s from Sicily and it’s always been a dream of ours to travel there.
  11. Visit West Texas (Big Bend, Marfa, etc.)
  12. Renew TSA Pre-check and add on Global Entry. TSA Pre-check has been worth every penny!

Hobbies

  1. Read 150 books total.
  2. Create a songwriting routine.
  3. Perform at an Open Mic Night.
  4. Start/join a band. Any takers?
  5. Expand my vinyl collection.
  6. Improve my Italian on Duolingo.
  7. Produce a demo album.
  8. Stay consistent with recording our podcast.
  9. Read House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski. I’ve been wanting to read this book forever and have never taken the plunge (it’s a long one).
  10. Finish a journal. I actually completed a journal earlier in 2020 as part of my 30 Before 30- I want to finish another one now!
  11. Go to 10 concerts. COVID-permitting 😦

Fooooooood

  1. Go an entire month without fast food.
  2. Go a whole week without eating out.
  3. Take a cooking class.
  4. Throw a dinner party. Hopefully it will be less awkward than Michael and Jan’s 🙂
  5. Bake a cheesecake from scratch.
  6. Successfully make macarons.
  7. Learn to make homemade sushi.
  8. Grow my own herbs.
  9. Buy an air fryer. Everyone and their dog has raved about this mystical object- time to check it out for myself! (Bought one in September and it’s as good as people say it is!!)
  10. Cook a perfect steak.
  11. Go pescatarian for a month. I wish I had the guts to do this full time, but I don’t think I could ever give up Raising Cane’s chicken fingers.

Random

  1. Get new glasses.
  2. Have a spa day. Massage, pedicure, manicure, facial…the whole nine yards.
  3. Attend a wine/paint class. Weirdly enough, I have never done this. I know it’s so 2013 at this point, but I still want to do it, dammit.
  4. Pull an all nighter (for fun, not study related).
  5. Leave a 100% tip for excellent service.
  6. Go skinny dipping.
  7. Go to a comedy show.
  8. Finish watching the TV show Supernatural.
  9. Meet Jensen Ackles in person. A girl can dream, right?
  10. Refine my wardrobe. Always a work in progress but I made bigger strides this past year than any other time before
  11. Dress as a Dallas Cowboys cheerleader for Halloween. This is the most frivolous thing on this list probably, but I’ve ALWAYS wanted to do this!
  12. Get another tattoo.
  13. Vote in the 2020 election. And not for Donald Trump, OBVIOUSLY.
  14. Vote in the 2022 election.
  15. Embrace my natural curls and get into a good curly girl routine.
  16. Become less non-confrontational. I’m not sure what this looks like yet, but I know it needs to be done.
  17. Organize my work computer. I am so type A but for some reason, my work computer is a big ole mess. Time to clean it up.
  18. Join a volunteer organization. Any suggestions?
  19. Find out my blood type. It’s pretty sad that I don’t already know this.
  20. Design a Shutterfly photo book with all of my European vacation photos. I’ve been back from this trip for a year and a half and STILL haven’t done this! Time to bite the bullet!
  21. Host/go to a Friendsgiving.
  22. Go a whole week without social media.
  23. Throw a huge 30th birthday party for myself.
  24. Buy my parents an expensive dinner.
  25. Buy a round of drinks for my friends at a bar.
  26. Start/join a book club.
  27. Send Christmas cards each year. (Did not happen in 2020- better luck in 2021!)
  28. Host a game night.
  29. Do an escape room. I’ve done one before but it’s been years and they’re so much fun!

San Antonio

  1. Go out on the St. Mary’s Strip. This is an infamous strip of bars and clubs in SA and I know I need to experience it firsthand!
  2. Find a core friend group in San Antonio.
  3. Celebrate Fiesta!
  4. Go to a First Friday event in Southtown.
  5. Visit every brewery in San Antonio. Here is a list of them all and I’ve crossed out the ones I’ve already been to: Weathered Souls Brewing, Freetail Brewing, Busted Sandal Brewing, Ranger Creek Brewing, Roadmap Brewing, Dorcol Distilling + Brewing, Longtab Brewing, Blue Star Brewing, Dos Sirenos Brewing, Alamo Beer Company, Back Unturned Brewing, Kunstler Brewing, Mad Pecker Brewing, Black Laboratory Brewing, Islla Street Brewing
  6. Dance at Pearl Park during DJ Night in the summer
  7. Happy Hour at Tower of the Americas
  8. Go to DoSeum during a ReDo Party. DoSeum is the children’s museum in SA and ReDo Parties are their adults only nights!
  9. Go to a MobileOm yoga class.
  10. Go to Six Flags Fiesta Texas.
  11. Bike along the Mission Trail.
  12. Go to drag brunch at Paramour.
  13. Take a weekend trip to Fredericksburg.
  14. Try 10 new coffee shops in San Antonio. Here are the ones I’ve tried so far since writing this: Press Coffee, Shotgun Roasters, Sip
  15. Go to a local farmer’s market.
  16. Go to Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch.
  17. Eat at one local restaurant per month. We try to do this anyway, but we are also absolutely NOT immune from the convenience of chain restaurants! We need to do better.
  18. Explore all the areas of Breckenridge Park (including the zoo).
  19. Find a regular trivia bar to go to.

Living

  1. Keep a succulent alive for longer than a month.
  2. Get a dog.
  3. Have one date night each month.
  4. Decorate our apartment.
  5. Plan a surprise date for Greg!

Leave a comment